Decentralized Video Game Distribution Platform

Ergonaut Bros

I am by no means a developer and not as knowledgeable in crypto and recognized that there are way smarter people here but just wanted to share my idea. Apologies in advanced if this isn’t very technical and is written in the most layman’s terms as this is my first post.

The distribution of video games highly rely on centralized and web2 based service distributors. Many of these examples can be seen on Steam, Microsoft Store, Sony PlayStation, Epic Games, Google play store, Apple IOS and yes even GOG etc.

These centralized video game distributors are seen by consumers, game developers and even publishers as the most viable form and easily accessible methods to distribute games and use as a service. As a service they provide extremely friendly and intuitive UI/UX interface and experience for their users allowing them ease of use to purchase video games and launching them on their platform. Because of this, this allows them to have many social features, tools added and a high amount of installed users making them the best platform to digitally transact and pay for video games.

However this is an increasingly a problem as only a few of the platforms tend to have a large market share and have an almost monopolistic characteristics to almost control entire segments of the market. Unaware to the general gamer or consumer this is a negative quality to the distributions of video games. Of course most consumers or gamers at the end of the day do not really care where they buy their games as long as it is easily accessible at any time. However I do not believe or share that type of reason where only few companies can control that type of distribution as we can look at other examples such as Windows OS and Linux on PC distribution which is obviously extreme.