LIT: Long-term Investment of Trust

Introduction

I would like to preface that I am no expert in the intricacies of finance. Nothing in this post is profound, I just wanted to propose an idea I have had and was curious what the community might think of it. This is just a high-level overview and even though the logic is not that complicated, I currently do not have time to write the ErgoScript contracts.

Learning about the basics of the financial system has been quite underwhelming. I suppose this is one reason why I am here. I found it rather silly that the stock market is essentially a glorified game of musical chairs, and I have personally come to the conclusion, born out of confusion and frustration, that there can really only be one legitimate claim of ownership in a portion of a company: a right to its profits, either as an employee or an investor. Anything else is really just a game, and there is no glory or triumph in timing when the music stops - play stupid games, win stupid prizes.

As has previously been proposed and implemented in the Ergo ecosystem is the idea of profit sharing, which is great. However, this usually requires there to be a project token, which although we would all like to claim is not a security, our behaviour would sometimes suggest otherwise. For example, the all too frequent Twitter posts of token charts with the adage ā€œtoken X is doing itā€™s thing," fervently waiting for exit liquidity. Now, do not get me wrong, I do have a sense of humour, but I donā€™t find this particularly funny, only sad. The token is not sentient, itā€™s not doing anything, someone else just bought or sold it.